Peabody Energy announced several changes in its organizational structure. Andrew P. Slentz has been promoted to executive vice president and chief human resources officer. Slentz replaces executive vice president and chief administrative officer Sharon D. Fiehler, who has been named executive vice president, office of the CEO, in advance of her planned retirement on June 30. Senior Vice President and chief information officer Lina A. Young will now report to Executive Vice President and CFO Michael C. Crews. The company’s global sales and marketing, trading, business development and strategy functions are being reorganized into two new groups: a Global Marketing and Trading Group and a Global Development and Strategy Group. Both report to president and COO Glenn L. Kellow. Christopher J. Hagedorn has been named group executive and chief development officer with responsibility for the Global Development and Strategy Group. In his new role, Hagedorn will be responsible for global market analytics, strategy, portfolio optimization and business development activities, with a focus on Asia. Bryan A. Galli has been named group executive and chief marketing officer of the Global Marketing and Trading Group. In his new role, Galli will oversee sales, marketing, logistics and trading and brokerage activities across the global enterprise.

Marion Loomis will retire as executive director of the Wyoming Mining Association in April, ending a career he began with the association in 1976. Loomis has led the organization in his current post since 1991, successfully advocating for low severance taxes on coal and mineral production, and validating the value of mining to both the state and the nation.

Chairman Steven Leer will retire from Arch Coal’s board on April 24.

Braam Jonker

R. Bruce Duncan, executive chairman of Canada Coal, will assume the role of president and CEO.

Bruce Duncan

Canada Coal Inc. announced that Braam Jonker has resigned as president, CEO and director of Canada Coal to focus his efforts on other business interests. R. Bruce Duncan, executive chairman of Canada Coal, will assume the role of president and CEO upon Jonker’s departure.

Neal Stanton, business development director, Stu Blattner Inc.

Neal Stanton

Stu Blattner Inc. Raise Boring Mining Service hired Neal Stanton as the business development director. He came to Stu Blattner Inc. with more than 10 years of experience in sales and marketing with Orica North America.

Volvo Penta appointed Shawn Sweet as vice president of industrial sales. Sweet will oversee the company’s engine business for the off-road versatile (VE) and power generation (GE) applications. He most recently served as president of Doosan Portable Power, where he was responsible for the global business, including sales, manufacturing and all functional areas of the portable air compressor and generator business.

GB Clean Energy Ltd. appointed Richard Bulman as project director. Bulman will have overall responsibility for coordinating the design, construction and operation of GBCE’s LiMax coal upgrading plants in Indonesia. Bulman previously managed coal preparation and quality management for coal projects in Indonesia for BHP Billiton and coal preparation optimization or coal projects at Worley Parsons.

Several awards were bestowed upon coal mining and processing professionals at the 2014 Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration (SME) Coal and Energy Division luncheon held during the 143rd Annual Meeting of the SME in Salt Lake City, Utah. For the Coal and Energy Section, the Distinguished Service Award was given to Keith Heasley and the Howard N. Eavenson Award was earned by Jay Colinet. The Erskine Ramsay Medal went to Christopher Mark, the Stefanko Best Paper Award was bestowed to Jacob Carr and JP DuCarme, and the J.W. Woomer Award was awarded to Heather Dougherty. Vladislav Kecojevic was honored with the Coal and Energy Division Chair Award.