As CEO, Engelhardt will have overall responsibility for the company and will focus on corporate strategy, financing activities, corporate development and optimization of the company’s assets. He will also continue to serve as chairman. Ben Hatfield has been named president and will continue to serve as COO of Patriot. He will be responsible for overseeing the execution of Patriot’s operations, sales and marketing plans.

Cloud Peak Energy Inc. has appointed Girish Hemrajani vice president and treasurer.

Walter Energy Inc. has appointed William Harvey CFO. He succeeds Robert Kerley, who is serving as interim principal financial officer and who will continue to serve as vice president, corporate controller and chief accounting officer.

Great Plains Energy Inc. and Kansas City Power & Light Co. announced that Scott Heidtbrink, senior vice president—supply, has been appointed executive vice president and COO of KCP&L and KCP&L Greater Missouri Operations. He replaces Terry Bassham, who was recently named president and CEO to succeed Michael J. Chesser following his retirement. The companies also announced that Michael Deggendorf has been appointed senior vice president—corporate services and Kevin Noblet has been promoted to vice president—generation.

Ingram Barge Co. announced the promotion of Crystal Taylor to senior vice president and controller.

Coalspur Mines Ltd. has appointed Gill Winckler managing director and CEO, and a member of the board.

Southern Illinois University Carbondale recently announced that Tomasz S. Wiltowski, professor of mechanical engineering and energy process, will become director of the Coal Extraction and Utilization Research Center. Wiltowski, who has served as interim director since September, follows John Mead, who retired last year.

The World Coal Association has appointed Dr. Zhang Xiwu as its new chairman. Dr. Zhang replaces outgoing Chair Fredrick D. Palmer, senior vice president of Peabody Energy, effective November 14. Dr. Zhang is chairman of the Shenhua Group, the largest and most modernized coal company in China, and the largest coal supplier in the world. It is the first time in nearly 30 years that the WCA will be led by a Chinese coal producer.

Alpha Natural Resources recently established the Alpha Foundation for the Improvement of Mine Safety & Health, Inc., a non-profit organization whose mission is to improve mine health and safety through funding projects by qualified academic institutions, not-for-profit entities and individuals associated with those entities. Alpha has appointed three directors to administer the foundation: Dr. Michael Karmis, Ph.D., Dr. David Wegman, M.D., M.Sc. and Dr. Keith Heasley, Ph.D. The three directors are highly qualified experts in mine health and safety and come from diverse professional and academic backgrounds.

McLanahan Corp. recently announced that Ken Kirsch has been promoted to vice president of operations. Jay Nartatez has been promoted to CFO. Due to the promotion of Nartatez, Sean McLanahan’s title has changed to executive vice president and chief administrative officer. The newly formed Environmental Division has led to two position changes. Cory Jenson, who previously served as a regional sales manager in the aggregates industry, will lead the division as general manager. Also joining the new division will be Brian Prenatt, director of engineering, who previously held the same position in McLanahan’s Mineral Processing Division. Succeeding Prenatt as the director of engineering for the Mineral Processing Division is Mike Smith. Another newly formed department will be led by Adam Eardley, who will serve as the director of the project management department. Chris Kelley has been promoted to sales manager for the Aggregate Processing Division.

Rish Equipment Co., Komatsu distributor for Virginia and West Virginia, recently announced the following: Wesley Burke has been appointed president; Jack Davis II has been appointed vice president business analysis; Myron Jones has been appointed CEO; Dale Hall has been appointed vice president and COO; Steve Hamilton has been appointed vice president, CFO, secretary and treasurer; Buddy McGlothlin has been appointed vice president sales; and Chip Bohlen has been appointed vice president and general manager, Virginia operations.