The U.S. House of Representatives’ voted of 214-193 against the Robert C. Byrd Mine Safety Protection Act of 2010. The measure was taken up by the House as a “suspension”—a legislative mechanism requiring a two-thirds majority of House members agreeing to the motion to allow its passage. This legislation was championed by Rep. George Miller (D-CA), chairman of the Education and Labor Committee, who expressed his disappointment.