Jim Gooch Jr.
John I. Kyle
Dr. Maohong Fan

The Kentucky Coal Association (KCA) selected Kentucky State Rep. Jim Gooch Jr. as its Coal Miner of the Year for 2014. KCA president Bill Bissett said that the annual award, announced October 24, was given to the House Natural Resources Committee leader for his position as a “proven leader who possesses a tremendous knowledge of Kentucky, its economy, and the direct connection between how we generate electricity and the economy of the Commonwealth.”

Bill Rusnack, a member of the Peabody Energy board of directors, has been named a recipient of the St. Louis Business Journal’s third annual Outstanding Directors Awards. Rusnack, a Peabody board member since 2002, is the chair of the Audit Committee, and a member of the compensation and executive committees of Peabody’s board. Rusnack served as president and chief executive officer and a member of the Board of Directors of Premcor Inc. from April 1998 until April 2002.

John I. Kyle has joined Behre Dolbear Group. Kyle has authored compliant reports, prepared economic valuations for mining properties, and directed feasibility studies from conceptual through definitive stages. He has broad-based international experience working with projects involving precious and base metals, industrial, heavy, and rare earth minerals, coal and uranium. He earned a B.S. in mining engineering from Colorado School of Mines and an MBA from the University of Denver.

The U.S. Energy Secretary appointed University of Wyoming professor Dr. Maohong Fan to serve on the National Coal Council. Fan focuses his research on coal conversion. The National Coal Council advises the Department of Energy on coal issues.