Westmoreland Coal Co. announced that Brian Blackman has joined the company as director of investor relations.

Atrum Coal NL appointed Robert W. “Bob” Bell executive director and chairman of the company. He currently serves on the boards of the Western Canadian Shippers Coalition and the Western Canadian Coal Society.

The National Mining Association (NMA) named numerous officers to its board of director for 2016: Chairman Kevin Crutchfield, chairman and CEO, Alpha Natural Resources; Vice Chairman Phillips Baker, president and CEO, Hecla Mining Co.; President Hal Quinn, president and CEO of NMA; Secretary Bruce Watzman, NMA senior vice president for regulatory affairs; Treasurer Roger Roberts, NMA senior vice president for administration; and Asst. Secretary Katie Sweeney, senior vice president and general counsel.

Coal Association of Canada appointed Robin Campbell as its new president. Campbell was a member of the Alberta Legislative Assembly for the riding of West Yellowhead from 2008-2015. During that time, he also held government ministerial appointments in several portfolios of importance to the coal industry, including environment and sustainable resource development and aboriginal relations.

Colin Boyd, former chief information officer at Johnson Controls Inc., has joined Joy Global Inc. as vice president and CIO. He started in early November and reports to CFO James Sullivan. He replaces Mark Shaver, who will eventually move to a position within Joy’s underground product services division.

TerraSource Global has appointed Jason Burlage as president of the company, succeeding Mark Kohler, who retired December 1. Burlage joined TerraSource Global as vice president of service and strategy in 2014 after 14 years at another Hillenbrand business.

Baldor Electric Co. appointed Myla Petree to the newly created position of director of strategic program management. Petree joined Baldor in 2011 as the company’s director of quality.

New Mexico Tech welcomed Dr. Sekhar Bhattacharyya as associate professor of mineral engineering. Prior to this appointment, Sekhar had an accomplished career in the industry for 21 years. He worked at various operations, engineering, and management positions at CONSOL Energy and Norwest Corp. in the U.S., and at Joy Global and CESC Ltd. in India.

Brady West passed away on August 8, 2015. He was the general mine manager for Kiewit at the San Miguel mine at the time of his passing, and worked for the Kiewit Mining Co. for 35 years.

Jim Cooper passed away on November 16, 2015. He was the former president of Oxbow Mining in Somerset, Colorado.

Mark Collett passed away on August 10, 2015. He had a distinguished career as an engineer, during which he served as president of the Rocky Mountain Coal Mining Institute, president of Instrumentation Society of America, and on various industry and academic advisory boards.