Leer will remain with the company as chairman of the board of directors. Leer was elected CEO of Arch Mineral Corp., an Arch Coal predecessor, in 1992, and became CEO of Arch Coal when it was formed in July 1997. Under Leer’s leadership, Arch has grown from a regional coal company with sales volumes of around 20 million tons to the world’s fourth largest coal producer with volumes exceeding 155 million tons in 2011. Eaves joined the corporation in 1987 after serving in various marketing-related positions at Diamond Shamrock and Natomas Coal Co. In 1997, he was elected vice president of marketing and president of Arch Coal Sales, the company’s marketing subsidiary; in 2000, he was elected senior vice president of marketing; and in 2002 he was elected executive vice president and COO. He has served as president and COO of Arch Coal since 2006.

Peabody Energy has appointed Bradley E. Phillips senior vice president of transition services in Australia. He will continue to lead the organizational integration of Macarthur Coal and Peabody Energy Australia.

Patriot Coal Corp. has promoted C. Wayne Elkins to vice president of materials management.

Jim Walter Resources recently appointed Dan Cartwright president of Canadian operations; Rich Donnelly has been appointed president of JWR; and Earl H. Doppelt has been appointed senior vice president, general counsel and secretary.

Ambre Energy Ltd. has appointed Terry O’Reilly non-executive chairman. This follows his recent appointment as a director. He succeeds David Usasz who has chaired the company for the last three years and remains on the board as a non-executive director.

The American Coalition for Clean Coal Electricity announced President and CEO Stephen L. Miller will retire later this year, after more than 17 years as head of the organization. Miller has served as the organization’s only full-time president and CEO since its creation. During his tenure, ACCCE has significantly expanded its responsibilities. Originally, the organization engaged solely in government relations on behalf of the coal-fueled electricity industry at the regional, state and local levels. ACCCE now also carries out its mission through federal governmental relations, policy analysis and development, as well as an integrated, national communications campaign.

The International Society of Explosives Engineers recently named John Capers president and J. Winston Forde executive director. During the 38th Annual Conference on Explosives & Blasting Techniques, ISEE presented Dr. Catherine Aimone-Martin with the 2012 Distinguished Service Award. The Blaster’s Leadership Award was presented to Aldwin Williams. The President’s Award was presented to Dr. Terry Matts, Dr. Braden Lusk and Kenneth Eltschlager.

Komatsu America Corp. has appointed Rod Schrader CEO and vice chairman. He replaces Dave Grzelak, who is stepping down as CEO, but will remain chairman of Komatsu America until the end of June 2013. Ivor Hill, currently vice president of service, has been promoted to vice president and general manager of the mining division.

Flexco recently appointed Bob Lord and Chris Poe to product management roles. Lord will focus on Flexco’s global transfer chute program and Poe will support the CoreTech roller line.

Eriez has appointed Craig Lorei, Christopher Ramsdell and Jayne Corey technical sales representatives.

Double Coin Tires and China Manufacturers Alliance LLC have appointed Les Garner western region off-the-road sales manager.