Cochran has been named group president with responsibility for Thunder Basin Coal Co., Arch Western Bituminous Group, Arch of Wyoming and the Otter Creek development. Bennett has been named group president with responsibility for the Mountain Laurel, Beckley, Coal-Mac, Cumberland River, Lone Mountain/Powell Mountain and Eastern mining complexes. Bennett will also have responsibility for the eastern engineering, environmental and coal preparation groups at the company’s office in Teays Valley. Snavely has been named group president with responsibility for the Vindex, Patriot, Wolf Run, Flint Ridge, Knott County, Hazard, East Kentucky and Viper mining complexes as well as the ADDCAR business unit and the Tygart Valley longwall development. The company also announced Samuel Kitts has been appointed director of operational development.

Peabody Energy has appointed Charles A. “Chuck” Burggraf senior vice president of global safety. He replaces David A. Beerbower who is retiring.

Patriot Coal Corp. announced Senior Safety Manager Fredrick Collins Jr. was recognized as a Coal Safety Leader by the Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association. This award is presented to safety professionals from West Virginia’s mining industry each year. The company also announced Apogee Coal, Patriot’s Logan County complex, received the Employer of the Year Award from WorkForce West Virginia, an affiliate of the West Virginia Department of Commerce.

Westmoreland Coal Co. has promoted Joseph Micheletti to senior vice president of coal operations and Russell Werner to corporate controller.

Walter Energy announced that Keith Calder has tendered his resignation as CEO and a director. Joseph B. Leonard will succeed Calder as interim CEO. Calder informed the board in his letter of resignation that he is resigning due to differences of opinion concerning management philosophy.

Cliffs Natural Resources Inc. has appointed David Webb senior vice president of global coal. Prior to joining Cliffs, Webb was vice president and general manager of Midwest operations for Patriot Coal.

Atlantic Coal plc has appointed Barney Corrigan project development officer.

Dynegy Inc. has appointed Robert C. Flexon president and CEO. He replaces E. Hunter Harrison who has served as interim president and CEO since April 2011. Harrison will resume his role as an independent director and will serve as non-executive chairman of Dynegy’s board of directors.

American Electric Power has appointed Lisa Barton executive vice president of AEP transmission.

Dahlman Rose & Co. has appointed Geoffrey O’Malley managing director of investment banking.

Deutsche Bank has appointed Dan Chu managing director in the mergers and acquisitions group, responsible for the metals and mining sector.

United Central Industrial Supply has promoted Michael Culbert to CFO.

Eriez has promoted Dave Heubel to director of North American sales.

Yokohama Tire Corp. has appointed Yasushi Tanaka president and CEO.

Electro-Mechanical Corp. has appointed Jerry Fitzgerald field service representative. His primary coverage area will be the Northeast Appalachian Region.  

Burrell Mining Products, Inc. has appointed Brian Travis president.

Ryan Youngblood has been appointed ground support sales manager, northwest, for Atlas Copco CMT USA.

Eric S. Graves has been promoted to regional sales manager for the W. H. Miner Division of Miner Enterprises.

Mine Site Technologies recently announced Jeff Burpee has been appointed senior account executive, Central USA; Simon Li has been appointed regional sales manager, China; Yajuan Bian has been appointed office manager, China; and Fangyong Liu has been appointed director of sales and marketing, China.

The Tug Valley Mining Institute (TVMI) recently announced the 2011 scholarship recipients. The two top $6,000 scholarship awards went to Aimee Williamson, Belfry High School and Alexandria Workman, Belfry High School. Four $750 scholarship awards went to Logan Bartley, Pike Central High School; Courtney Blackburn, Belfry High School; Amber Hopkins, Tug Valley High School; and Sara Mullins, Belfry High School. Over the last 15 years, TVMI has awarded 90 students $198,250 in scholarship monies. The TVMI scholarship is open to students from Mingo, Logan, Wayne, Pike and Martin counties.