P. Jerome Richey, executive vice president and chief legal officer, also announced his plans to retire in March 2014. In conjunction with this announcement and to ensure a smooth transition, several additional executive promotions were announced. David Khani, who has served as the company’s vice president of finance since July 2011, will be promoted to CFO March 1, 2013. Effective January 1, 2013, Stephen W. Johnson, senior vice president and general counsel, will be promoted to chief legal and corporate affairs officer and will oversee the legal, environmental, human resources, major transactions, government affairs and public relations functions of the company. Effective November 15, 2012, James C. Grech was promoted to chief commercial officer; in this capacity he is responsible for CONSOL Energy’s marketing, transportation services, CNX Land Resources, and research and development departments, as well as Fairmont Supply.  

Peabody Energy’s Midwest Environmental Specialist Dan Williamson has been awarded the 26th Vance “Pat” Wiram Award for career efforts advancing best practices for restoration of hardwood forests working collaboratively with regulators, academia and industry. The honor was presented by the Indiana Society of Mining and Reclamation. Williamson, an industry veteran with more than 30 years of practice, has pioneered methods to increase tree survival on restored lands. His work is directly responsible for a half-dozen major awards in recent years for reclamation excellence in the areas of reforestation, wetlands and wildlife habitat from the state and the U.S. Department of the Interior.

Teck Resources Ltd. has appointed Keith Stein vice president of project development; Bill Fleming vice president of engineering, projects and business improvement, coal; Robin Sheremeta vice president of operations, coal; Bob Kelly vice president of health and safety; and Dean Winsor vice president of human resources.

Bumi plc announced Nalin Rathod will step down as CEO and will serve as a non-independent, non-executive director. He will be succeeded by Nick von Schirnding, who joined the board at the end of December.

The Ohio Coal Association announced Zane T. Daniels will take over as president of the organization. Daniels will be responsible for all state legislative and regulatory activities in Ohio and work in conjunction with the NMA and the American Coalition for Clean Coal Electricity on federal issues. Daniels will also manage all advocacy and membership activities for the association. He was the government affairs manager for the Ohio Rural Electric Cooperatives before joining the association, and his past experience includes time in the Ohio general assembly as a legislative staff member.

American Electric Power announced that Charles E. Zebula, currently treasurer and senior vice president–investor relations, will become executive vice president–energy supply. Julie Sloat, currently vice president–regulatory case management, will become treasurer and senior vice president.

The National Mining Association has appointed Nancy Gravatt senior vice president of communications. She replaces Carol Raulston, who will remain with the NMA until May 15, when she plans to retire.

ThermoEnergy Corp. has appointed James F. Wood chairman and CEO. He succeeds Cary G. Bullock who will remain a member of ThermoEnergy’s board of directors. Wood recently completed his service as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Clean Coal in the U.S. Department of Energy.

Tetra Tech, Inc. has appointed John M. Young vice president of mine closure.

Jørgen Huno Rasmussen, Group CEO of FLSmidth & Co. A/S, will retire in 2013. Former Sandvik Construction President Thomas Schulz has been appointed Group CEO.