Contura Energy announced changes to both its board of directors and senior management. The board of directors took action to reconfigure the board’s composition, reducing its size to five members, including one vacancy. Anthony Orlando, Harvey L. Tepner, Michael Ward, and previous board Chair Neale X. Trangucci have each voluntarily resigned from the board. The company said none of their resignations were the result of any disagreement with Contura.

Contura’s remaining board members, CEO David J. Stetson, Albert E. Ferrara Jr., Daniel J. Geiger, and John E. Lushefski, unanimously elected Stetson as chairman of the board and Lushefski as lead independent director.

The company also announced two changes to its executive management team. Contura’s current executive vice president and COO, Scott Kreutzer, will transition to a newly created position of executive vice president and chief strategy officer. In this role, Kreutzer will lead the strategic planning and development efforts for the company and continue to serve on Contura’s management team.

Joining Contura’s management team as the new executive vice president and COO will be Jason Whitehead, former COO at Alpha Natural Resources. Whitehead brings nearly 20 years of coal mining experience to the role, more than a decade of which he served in senior operational management positions within the industry. Both positions will report directly to Stetson.