ASTM International Gives Out RA Glenn Award

Stephen R. Smith, engineering manager for Coalsmith Consultants, in Hixson, Tennessee, has received the R.A. Glenn Award from ASTM International’s Committee on Coal and Coke. The committee recognized Smith for his outstanding service and active participation in the work of the Committee on Coal and Coke, as well as the deep appreciation from the officers and members for his efforts and accomplishments. He has been a member of the Committee on Coal and Coke since 1987.

Smith, engineering manager for Coalsmith Consultants, previously worked for Tennessee Valley Authority as a senior chemist, in Chattanooga, Tennessee. He received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry, as well as a master’s degree in engineering management, both from the University of Tennessee, in Chattanooga.

Arch Coal Honors Teachers in Wyoming and West Viriginia

Arch Coal recently named 10 outstanding classroom teachers in Wyoming and West Virginia as recipients of the prestigious Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award. Each teacher was honored at a special assembly held in front of students, peers, family and friends at his or her individual school.

“A state cannot have high-achieving students without first having excellent classroom teachers who make a difference in children’s lives every day,” said John W. Eaves, CEO, Arch Coal. “This year’s Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award recipients represent the many outstanding educators who strive daily to mold our future leaders and to inspire them to live up to their highest potential. We are pleased to recognize these educators for their significant and valuable contributions, and we congratulate them on their professionalism, commitment to high standards and unflagging enthusiasm for educating students.”

The public nominates teachers for the annual award, and a panel of past award recipients selects the top 10 from each state among all those completing the application process. In addition to the public recognition, each teacher is presented with a personal cash award and a distinctive trophy.

Tug Valley Mining Institute Awards Annual Scholarships

On May 18 at the Tug Valley Mining Institute (TVMI) dinner meeting, six 2017 scholarships were awarded. The two top $8,000 scholarships were awarded to Megan Cooper, Belfry High, and Aerianna McClanahan, Mingo Central. Four $1,000 scholarships were awarded to Brandon Booth, Belfry High; McKenzie Bentley, Phelps High; Ashton Sparks, Logan High; and Camron Sweat, Logan High.

The guest speaker was Dr. Jerome Gilbert, president of Marshall University. Dr. Gilbert discussed the many opportunities available at Marshall, including several initiatives in the southern West Virginia area with local schools and colleges. JH Fletcher Mining Machinery sponsored the meeting and has been a long-time supporter of the scholarship program.

Over the last 19 years, TVMI has awarded 123 students $288,250 in scholarship money. The TVMI scholarship is open to students from Mingo, Logan, Wayne, Pike, and Martin counties. The applications are available in November of each year.

Read the Whole Article in our Digital Edition