An Alpha spokesperson said the 230 individuals who received Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification (WARN) Act notices February 5 will be officially laid off on April 5, or within two weeks of that date.

The impacted locations are Jackson Bridge No. 1 in Braxton County; Mine No. 4 in Braxton County; Sumter in Braxton and Webster counties; and the Seven Pines surface operation in Webster County; also included is the Erbacon processing plant.

The locations are operated by Brooks Run Mining and Maxxim Shared Services, respectively.

Alpha cited lack of orders for the mines’ coal for its decision to idle.

The furloughs follow 886 positions cut last month ahead of the producer’s plan to idle eight underground and two processing facilities, also in West Virginia.