The West Virginia Coal Association named the following officers to serve on the executive committee and board of directors for 2014-2015: Jimmy Brock of Consol Energy, chairman; first vice chairman, Jimmy Bunn II of Coal River Energy; Ben Hatfield of Patriot Coal, second vice chairman; secretary, Gary Bennett of Arch Coal; treasurer, Prichard Mining’s Andrew Jordon; assistant treasurer, Ben Beakes of Alpha Natural Resources; and the general representatives will be Mike Carey of Murray Energy and Patience Coal’s Warren Hylton. Time McLean of Walker Machinery will be serving as associate chairman as will Pat Graney of Pilot Logistics Services. The immediate past chairman is Jim Laurita of L.P. Minerals. In addition to those officers who were re-elected to a new three-year term on the board of directors, the following members were also re-elected for three-year terms ending in August 2017: Jim Bunn, Central Coal; Larry Evans, Walter Energy/Western Coal; Ralph Hamilton, Rudd Equipment; Greg Jessee, Arcelor Mittal WV; Myron Jones, Rish Equipment; John Payne, Pocahontas Land; Drexel Short, Gatling; Wayne Stanley, Stanley Industries; and Robert Worley, Baylor Mining. The board also approved the addition of Jeff Allen of Pardee Minerals to the board of directors for a three-year term through August 2017.

Alexey Ivanushkin

Mechel OAO appointed Alexey Ivanushkin first deputy chief executive officer. Prior to his appointment, Ivanushkin was the CEO of Oriel Resources Ltd.

Atrum Coal NL appointed Steven Boulton to the board as a non-executive director. He currently serves as global head of infrastructure at CP2.

FLSmidth & Co. A/S appointed Manfred Schaffer president of the new Minerals Division and member of group executive management. From 2006 to 2013, he was president of Sandvik Surface Mining and Systems.

Image title
Cecil E. Roberts & 
Daniel J. Kane

The United Mine Workers of America (UMWA) International President Cecil E. Roberts and International Secretary-Treasurer Daniel J. Kane have been re-elected to new five-year terms. Roberts has served as international president of the UMWA since 1995, and has now been re-elected by acclamation for the fifth time. He has served in that office longer than anyone other than John L. Lewis, who was president of the UMWA from 1920-1960. Kane was elected to his position in 2004 and has been re-elected by acclamation twice.


Cloud Peak Energy announced that its current Executive Vice President and CFO Michael Barrett is planning to relocate his family back to Australia and is expected to resign from the company by the end of the first quarter of 2015. He has served in that positon since September 2008. The company also announced that it expects to promote Heath Hill, currently Cloud Peak Energy’s vice president and chief accounting officer, to serve as executive vice president and CFO following Barrett’s departure. Hill has served as the company’s vice president and chief accounting officer since September 2010.

Lee Rice passed away on August 20 in Denver, Colorado. He was formerly with the Intermountain Field Operations Center of the U.S. Bureau of Mines, and most recently with his own company, Data Technology Services. His ongoing, hands-on, volunteer support of outreach efforts for K-12 teachers and their students, especially for the long-term success of the All About Mining – A Total Concept of the Mining Industry course, will always be appreciated.

Image title
Mark Slonaker

McLanahan Corp. has appointed Mark Slonaker as its first vice president of manufacturing. He will oversee manufacturing operations at all U.S.-based locations. He helps to maintain safe standards and corporate objectives, while making sure that as the company continues to grow, manufacturing capabilities are in place to meet and exceed all industry and customer requirements.