In the underground division (50-75 employees), the winner was Aracoma Coal’s Cedar Grove No. 1, and Bandmill Coal’s Tower Mountain surface operation won in the surface mine division (36-49 employees).

Republic Energy’s Republic mine took home the Holmes for surface mines with more than 75 workers. Finally, for preparation plants with 50-75 individuals, Mammoth Coal’s Plant and River Loadout was bestowed the honor.

Special recognition was also given to four employees for their efforts and achievements in mine safety and community work, including Gary Frampton, who won the state’s top individual honor as 2013 Coal Safety Leader. Director’s Special Recognition Awards for 2013 went to Jeff Ellis of the Alpha Natural Resources Southwest Region, Chuck Barton of the Brooks Run South Horse Creek mine, and Henry Ruiz from the Coal River Surface Twilight operation.

“I am tremendously proud of our employees for their commitment to Running Right through safe and responsible operating practices. These awards demonstrate our ongoing dedication to fostering a culture of vigilance and maintaining safety as a core value,” said Allen Dupree, senior vice president of Running Right and Safety.

The awards were handed out during the 31st annual Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association West Virginia State Council Meeting, which was held from June 6-8 in Daniels.