People - June 2017

Anthony Webb has joined Cutlass Collieries as senior vice president of underground operations. Previously, he was president of Mach Mining.


Ellen Ewart.jpg

Ellen Ewart has joined Coronado Coal as vice president of investor relations. Previously, she was vice president of research for Wood Mackenzie.

Al Clayborne is the new regional director for the Mid-Continent Region of the U.S. Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement.

Arrow Material Services named Bill Henderson chief commercial officer. Prior to joining Arrow, he held a variety of executive and managerial positions with RJ Corman Railroad Group and with Ashland Inc.

Humberto Gonzalez.jpg

Humberto Gonzalez has joined Hawk Measurement as a sales director. Gonzalez has been in the instrumentation and control world for more than 30 years with companies such as Milltronics, Magnetrol and Robert Shaw.



People - April 2017



Charles Meintjes.jpg       George Schuller Jr.jpg       Holly Krutka, Ph.D.jpg

Charles Meintjes             George Schuller Jr.          Holly Krutka

Peabody Energy named Charles Meintjes to the new position of executive vice president-corporate services and chief commercial officer. George Schuller Jr. will succeed Meintjes as Peabody Energy President-Australia. Both positions will report to Glenn Kellow, president and CEO. Meintjes will have executive responsibility for sales and marketing, corporate development, information technology (IT), Peabody Business Services, technical services, and coal generation and emissions technology. He also will have temporary oversight of the human resources areas. He will return to Peabody’s global headquarters in St. Louis, Missouri. Meintjes joined Peabody in 2007. In addition to serving as President of Australian Operations and Acting President of the Americas, he has led technical functions, large re-engineering programs, IT system implementations and large industrial construction projects.

Schuller will have executive responsibility for Peabody’s Australia operating platform, which includes overseeing the areas of health and safety, operations, sales and marketing, product delivery and support functions. He has more than 30 years of experience with Peabody in senior management roles in both surface and underground operations in the United States and Australia, most recently serving as COO for Australia, a position he held nearly four years. The company does not intend to replace the Australian COO position. 

In related news, Holly Krutka, Ph.D, has been named vice president of coal generation and emissions technologies for Peabody Energy. She will report to Meintjes. Dr. Krutka will work to help protect and enhance the existing U.S. coal fleet as well as promote the use of high efficiency, low emissions (HELE) technologies. This will include working on public policy proposals that advance the commercialization of carbon capture use and storage (CCUS) technology. 

Bowie Resource Partners appointed Gene DiClaudio CEO. Carlos Pons, a Bowie board member, has been appointed co-CEO alongside DiClaudio. The company’s founder and chairman, John J. Siegel, has stepped down from his executive duties to become non-executive chairman. Prior to joining Bowie in 2013 as COO, DiClaudio served as president of the Arch Western Bituminous Group for seven years. Previously, Gene was president of Mountain Coal Co., LLC and held senior executive positions at ARCO Coal and BP Coal. Carlos Pons has 13 years of experience in M&A in mining and natural resources. Pons represents Galena Asset Management, a private investment arm of the Trafigura Group, which holds an ownership stake in Bowie.

Hunter Hobson has been appointed president Corsa Coal’s Central Appalachia (CAPP) Division. He has served as vice president of sales for KopperGlo Mining, a Corsa subsidiary since 2014. Hobson replaces Keith D. Dyke who has been an integral part of Corsa’s growth and now plans to retire.


Jeffrey Dawes.jpg

Jeffrey Dawes

Jeffrey Dawes, former leader of Komatsu Latin America has been tapped to lead the new Komatsu Mining Corp. (See Suppliers News, p. 42).



People - November/December 2016

Rhino Resource Partners appointed Richard A. Boone as chief executive officer of Rhino GP, effective January 1. Boone served as president of Rhino GP since September and prior to that as executive vice president and CFO. Boone will succeed Joseph E. Funk, who served as CEO since November 2014. Funk will serve as a senior advisor to the partnership from January 1 through March 31.

Read more ...

People - Sept 2016

Rhino Resource Partners announced several appointments. Rick Boone was promoted to the position of president of the general partner and all subsidiaries. Boone most recently served as executive vice president and chief financial officer since 2014. Additionally, Scott Morris was promoted to the position of vice president and chief financial officer. Morris has served under Boone in different senior level financial roles since joining Rhino in 2010, most recently as vice president of finance. William Tuorto, the general partner’s chairman of the board, will assume the position of executive chairman.

Read more ...

People - August 2016

David Stetson was appointed CEO of a reorganized Alpha Natural Resources. Stetson is a veteran coal executive with broad experience in finance, mergers and acquisitions, corporate governance, legal and reclamation. He most recently held leadership positions with Trinity Coal, RAAM Global Energy and JW Resources.

Read more ...